Thursday, December 23, 2010

Football, bloody hell - part 5



Nani is targeting the Ballon d’Or after emerging from Ronalod’s shadow. All he needs now is a rope to hang the trophy by and a crossbow.

Terry says he is confident that Chelsea is over their form slump. Russian vodka hasn’t lost its magic yet.

Dzeko’s move to City is going to cost the blues a whopping 38million pounds. Sheikh Mansour’s
son will have to do without his pocket money for a week.

Michael Owen claims he is ready and match-fit. Tall claim coming from somebody who is capable of picking up injuries while on the bench.

Liverpool welcome fit again Gerrard with open arms. Now they are waiting for Santa to bring them excuses when they lose next.

Balotelli is the first name on Guardian’s worst team award of the year list. Rumours claim that the Sheikh splurged as soon he heard the word ‘award’.

Alan Pardew insists he has no intention of selling his rogue midfielder Joey Barton. The Newcastle Police are taking him for free.

Nicklas Bendtner has been told there is no chance of him joining Lazio. Arsene Wenger was dejected by it and called it an act of typical Italian betrayal.

Monday, June 21, 2010

To err is human, to be Brazilian is divine...



There it was. The Brazilians were in town. And so was beautiful football. A rampaging victory over the African superpowers followed. The world rejoiced over the victory. The world mourned the angel’s a.k.a. Kaka’s sending off and the inevitable cheating by an African player. Things were back to normal again. Justice prevailed. Or did it?

Kaka epitomized what football should be all about. An extremely talented player who plays football the Brazilian way – the way it was always meant to be played. His fear of God was just another feather in his Champions League winning cap. But above all, he was Brazilian. And as the word goes around in world football, Brazilians could do no wrong. They were born to play football, and that too the beautiful version. Africans, in this case the Ivorians, on the other hand were the anti-thesis of what the game should be. Thanks to Rigobert Song and the likes. Rumour was that he once got booked for carrying an AK 47 on the field. But things have changed since that Cameroonian debacle. The World Cup has come to Africa. Period. But last night was proof of what is wrong!

“Fucking black bastard cheated,” screamed a friend of mine. An avid Brazil fan, he was swearing at the ridiculous sending off of Kaka, the Brazilian playmaker. The man who was fouled, Keita, was an African. As long as he was not beheaded or castrated, no Brazilian was to be cautioned or so said the rules of the game. After all, Brazilians could do no wrong. So when Kaka, the same guy who wears a Jesus on his vest, received the second yellow, there was public uproar. Africans cheated. Poor Kaka! God’s second son! Brazilian! What rubbish! I guess people have short memories. Remember Rivaldo in 2002? If you don’t, here’s a reminder. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RKo_50sWW4

There is no doubt that Keita could very well share the Oscar with Rivaldo for that spectacular piece of cheating. But then again, so could Fabiano, with his impersonation of Godson Kaka by using the hands of God to score his second one. And he too went to ground as if he was shot in the head at the slightest of nudges. But yeah, he is Brazilian and Brazilians are capable of doing no wrong. Coming back to the red card, Kaka was no saint last night. No fucking way. All the claims about Keita approaching Kaka from the back and charging into him are rubbish. (People who have just read about it and not watched it please keep your mouths shut.) Kaka raised an elbow, though not head high, at the onrushing Ivorian. And a raised elbow is a bookable offence. It is usually a straight red. So the Brazilians should at least be happy that the ban is just for a match. So shut up and stick to your simple task of delighting the world the Samba way!